Northern Mummy

General thoughts and wittering about all sorts of things

Heads up for my next review

on October 14, 2013

As I explained in my September review post, my intention was to review the audio book of Jo Baker’s Longbourn for my October selection in the Pride and Prejudice Bicentenary Challenge. However, I discovered last week that the BBC daytime medical soap Doctors is running a week of Austen-related specials and I’ve decided to watch and review them, for a different angle, and defer Longbourn to November.

For those of you who haven’t seen it, Doctors is based around a GP surgery in the fictional West Midlands town of Letherbridge. The staff (medical and admin) are the recurring cast and their patients are usually one-off or short-term characters. You can read more about it on the Wikipedia page. I used to watch it regularly but these days I only do so occasionally if I’m ill or if I read that someone famous is making a guest appearance. They’ve done themed weeks like this in the past, including a very good Shakespeare week that I managed to catch. I thought that this week’s episodes might each focus on one novel, starting with Pride and Prejudice, but having seen today’s I’ve realised it isn’t going to be like that so I’ll have to watch all five episodes before I review.

The purpose of this advance notice is to bring it to the attention of anyone else who might like to watch it, because by the time I post the review, today’s episode will be close to being removed. I know some of you are in other countries where Doctors might be running behind the UK, or not screened at all, but if you are able to access BBC iPlayer from where you are, you can find the first episode here. The episodes are available for a week, so today’s will disappear next Monday night.

Today’s episode both intrigued and confused me, and I’m interested to find out more. In the meantime, I’m trying not to become distracted by what may or may not have happened to the long-standing characters since last I saw them!


What do you think? Let me know!