Northern Mummy

General thoughts and wittering about all sorts of things

Magimix cooking part 1: successes and disappointments

on February 22, 2014

So, as planned, I’ve managed to try a few recipes in my food processor over the past month. Four, to be precise.

The first one was to try my usual chocolate chip cookie recipe (from the Hummingbird Bakery book) in it, rather than using a hand-held mixer. This was a relative success, although it didn’t go exactly to plan.

I chopped the chocolate in the small bowl, which was good as it usually takes much linger to do by hand. Then weighing up the ingredients and the instructions (which are really for a stand mixer), I decided to use the dough blade in the main bowl, so put in the starting ingredients and got to work. The dough blade, for some strange reason, has very short blades, which meant that a lot of the mixture was left round the edge and not picked up by the blades. I changed part way through to the regular metal blade (a bit of a messy procedure, but worthwhile) and continued: the remaining mixtures was caught up in the dough after that and it worked fine. When I came to add the chocolate, however, where a dough blade would simply have folded it in, the sharp blade of course shredded little bits off it at the same time, mixing lots of chocolate crumbs into the dough along with the bigger pieces. This turned out ok in the end, though, as they flavoured the biscuit part of the cookies and made them a bit more chocolatey. Probably not better, but no worse either.

On balance I shall probably not use the Magimix for cookies again, as it didn’t really save me any time over my usual method with my hand mixer being pretty powerful. I might use the small bowl for chopping the chocolate though.

My next experiment was to make dough for scones. I would say this was an unmitigated success. I was amazed how quickly the ingredients were whizzed into fine crumbs (the booklet suggested the dough blade for scones, but after the cookies I eschewed that in favour of the sharp blade), especially as I’d forgotten to take the butter out of the fridge in advance so it was still cold. I added the liquid through the spout as the motor was running and the whole thing was ready in moments. I was concerned the scones wouldn’t be as light as usual, as the mixture wasn’t as wet, but I needn’t have worried. They probably benefited from not being handled quite so much.

Cream tea for two!

Cream tea for two!

I made heart-shaped scones for a Valentine’s afternoon tea. The recipe I used would have made 6 large scones, but I made 4 large and 4 small as I wasn’t sure how they’d turn out. I processed 8oz (225g) self raising flour, a teaspoon of baking powder, 1.5oz (37.5g) butter and 1oz (25g) caster sugar until they were fine crumbs (really quick!), then, with the motor running, poured a beaten egg (minus 1 tbsp reserved for glazing) made up to 5floz (150ml) with milk down the spout to bind the mixture. I turned it out onto a board, flattened it with my hand and cut out my hearts, which I glazed with the reserved egg and baked for 15 minutes at 200C (in the Over-Zealous Oven this made them very brown, but they weren’t burnt or dry).

 

 

Heart-shaped scones

Heart-shaped scones

 

They came out unusually rounded and bun-like for scones – not sure if this was the heart shapes or the food processor preparation, but as I’d broken my maxim If you’re going to tweak a recipe, make sure you only tweak one thing at a time, there was no way of working that out!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The next thing I made was the most disappointing, not least because I’d made it from the recipe book that came with the machine. The Butterfly and I decided, as it was half term, to try a plaited brioche. We followed the instructions about dissolving the yeast in warm milk, making sure it wasn’t too warm, then adding it to the other ingredients and processing. All went well with the proving and plaiting but then we hit a snag. Prove for a second time in a very low oven, said the recipe. But what is a very low oven? I know from previous baking projects, involving Mrs Beeton recipes and the like, that very low often means about 110-120C, but that seemed a bit warm for proving bread, so I went for 50C, which is the lowest setting on the O-Z O. After half an hour (as stated in the book) I removed it – not looking very different – egg-washed it and returned it to a hotter oven for its allotted baking time, but when it came out it looked rather sorry for itself. We let it cool and then I sliced it and found – as expected – it was rather dense-looking and under-proved. It didn’t taste bad, and we are it with jam for tea, but it was much less sweet than we’re used to and had a rather doughy, steamy flavour. Undeterred, I’ve been looking at alternative recipes and plan to try another one soon with longer, slower proving at room temperature. On the plus side, the dough blade did prove effective for this one!

Finally, today I made an apple crumble on the spur of the moment.  I was making pot roast beef* for Sunday lunch and, as I’d put it all in the slow cooker overnight, there was only the Yorkshire pudding to be made (Southern Daddy always does the steamed veg at the last minute) and I found I had time to think about a pudding.  I used Delia Smith’s recipe, but made my own adjustments – I used eating apples (because it was all I had), I didn’t add any almonds to the crumble (because I hadn’t any), I did add sultanas to the apples (because I like them) and I made half the amount of apple mixture but the full amount of crumble (because we were only four for lunch, but I like a good thick layer of crumble with my fruit!). I could probably have used the slicing attachment and the medium bowl for the apples, but I only thought of this after I’d done most of them!  But I made the crumble in the large bowl really easily and was very pleased with the way it turned out – much quicker than rubbing in by hand when you’re doing something on a whim and don’t have much time.

So, that’s my first Magimix report. I already have plans for a focaccia loaf next week, as well as the second brioche, and I’m constantly on the look-out for more ideas!

____________________________________________________________________________

* If you are interested in a recipe for the slow-cooker pot roast, this is what I used.  It’s an amalgam of Delia Smith’s and Martha Stewart’s recipes, adapted to suit the veg we had in.  Serves 4ish.

In the bottom of the slow-cooker dish, mix 1 tbsp cornflour in 2tbsp cold water.  Put in 6 shallots, peeled and halved, 2 parsnips and 2 sweet potatoes, all peeled and chopped, and 2 celery sticks, each cut into 3.  Season with salt and pepper and toss with the cornflour mixture.  Season a 600g brisket joint and sit on top of the vegetables, then pour over 2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce.  Put on the lid and place the dish in the slow-cooker.  Set to Auto.  (I cooked mine for 15 hours and it came out nice and moist and completely cooked through.  Obviously if you’re desperate to have your meat rare you’ll have to cut down the cooking time).  Remove the brisket and leave under foil to rest for 30 minutes before carving.  Keep the vegetables warm and bring the liquid to the boil in a pan and serve as gravy.  If you want more gravy you could press the vegetables through a sieve into the juices.

One response to “Magimix cooking part 1: successes and disappointments

  1. Linda says:

    Looking forward to more of your recipes,
    Just started to use my magimix thinking this is going to be a nightmere but getting there very slowly 😣
    Regards Linda

What do you think? Let me know!

