Northern Mummy

General thoughts and wittering about all sorts of things

Recipe: Spicy autumn vegetable soup

on November 21, 2012

I totally forgot to tell you what I did with the rest of the butternut squash!

Once I’d finished boiling, mashing and singeing the bits I wanted for the ersatz pumpkin muffins, I made soup.  It was something I made up as I went along but I thought I’d record the recipe in case I or anyone else wanted to replicate it.

  • approx 3/4 of a butternut squash, peeled and cut into chunks (if you’re not making muffins, you could probably just use the whole squash!)
  • 4 medium parsnips, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 3 medium carrots, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 1 tsp each ground ginger, coriander and cumin
  • 1 pint vegetable stock

Put all the veg into a large pan and heat gently without adding any butter or oil (if you don’t care about fat content then you could add some, but this was for me and my friend who’s on a pancreatic diet, and it tastes great without fat!)

Once the vegetables start to heat, stir in the spices.  Stir in extra ginger because it all came out suddenly  if you want it nice and spicy.

When the vegetables are coated with the ground spices and the heated spices are smelling… well, spicy, add the stock.

Refill the jug you measured the stock in with boiling water and add until the vegetables are well-covered (I used about 1/4 pint).

Simmer until the vegetables are tender, about 15-20 minutes.

Blend to smooth.

Serve with warm crusty bread.  I’m currently getting through a lot of Weight Watchers Petits Pains.

You can add fromage frais/yogurt/cream/whatever you like before serving – in fact you can put more or different spices or vegetables in, depending on what you like.  Chopped chilli might be quite nice on a cold day.  But that’s how we ate it and we both really enjoyed it.  There was one portion left over which I have put up for Southern Daddy’s lunch tomorrow.

What do you think? Let me know!

