Northern Mummy

General thoughts and wittering about all sorts of things

New name

on April 9, 2012

I’ve decided to change the name of the blog.  I didn’t really feel that the old name was very representative of what I was writing, any more – for one thing there was very little about singing (and I kept on feeling obliged to include stuff just to justify its place in the title!) and although the majority of posts are still cooking and reading, there have been several other things I wanted to say so I thought a more general title would be useful.  I’ve gone for Northern Mummy as it’s a user name I’ve had in various places already, and because I think it sums up what I talk about better as it’s all from the perspective of me, as a Northerner and a mummy in the North!

I know that there is already a WordPress Blog using the name (as I discovered when I tried to change the blog address and which is why this address is abbreviated to northmum) and I want to say here that I don’t intend any offence to her.  I have visited Northernmummy’s blog and discovered that it’s updated quite infrequently (and yes, I know I’m a fine one to talk about infrequent updates!) and the subject matter is quite different from mine, so I hope that everyone’s happy with my using a similar name.  There are also other blogs with similar names, and I beg the tolerance of those bloggers too.   I’ve chosen my name because it makes sense to me and to this blog.  I hope there won’t be any confusion.

I’m also hoping that those who have been following are still able to find me.  You are fairly few (that I know of) and I don’t consider my ramblings to be of any great import so I shan’t be paying for the upgrade which fixes all the redirection etc.  I don’t know what this means in terms of subscribed followers (I’m not tech-savvy enough to find out) so I do apologise for any inconvenience!

 

One response to “New name

  1. fionamerrick says:

    Happy New Name! I know just what you mean and I think sometimes blogs and their main subject matter do change over time, so it’s great to have something all-encompassing which will serve you for a long while. When I got my new laptop and had to search out all my favourite websites and blogs again (which definitely includes yours!) I put cooking, reading and singing in the wrong order into the URL bar and was informed that it did not exist, which was momentarily distressing until I rearranged them and hit upon the proper combination! Keep writing – you are so good at it xxx

What do you think? Let me know!

