Northern Mummy

General thoughts and wittering about all sorts of things

Easter delights

on April 18, 2011

We’re not doing much this Easter holiday so far – the Bookworm has been ill with a fluey virus for a couple of weeks (she’s back at the doctor’s this afternoon to make sure it’s ok to keep her constantly ticking over on painkillers!) and it looks like the Butterfly’s heading in the same direction.  It’s been a long term, so I can’t really be surprised they’re run down, and we intend to give them a good rest over the next two weeks.  We are, however, enjoying a new Easter activity called Resurrection Eggs, introduced to me by The Vicar’s Wife on her blog.  You can read full information about them by following the link – it’s a method of telling the Easter story over the days leading up to Easter with a little visual aid each day – a bit like an Advent calendar.  I made ours a few days ago and the girls have really enjoyed opening one each day after tea (I’ve put 2 tiny chocolate eggs inside each of them, as suggested, so we do it after tea as an appropriate chocolate-eating time!).  It’s also been good to see how many of the Bible stories they’ve been able to guess from the visual aids (and especially gratifying that they recognised that my pipe-cleaner man was praying, even though he’d been squashed inside an egg for 4 days!)

The other thing we’ve done today is to construct an Easter tree for the second year running.  I bought the decorations last year in Durham and was fortunate enough to come across a suitable branch in the street near the girls’ school soon afterwards.  This year I was thinking I’d need to go and look in the park and hadn’t got round to it, when our neighbour persuaded my husband to help him cut back the trees which border his garden but overhang into ours, and I had my pick of several branches this year!

This morning I mounted the one I’d chosen in a vase with the aid of a blob of Blu-tack and some pebbles from the garden and the girls and I hung on the decorations.  In addition to the differently-sized hanging eggs I bought last year, I’d also added some flower shapes cut from pastel card with a punch and blu-tacked onto the branches.  As you can’t hang many eggs on each branch without the whole thing toppling over, this prevents the spaces in between from looking too bare and sparse.  I discovered I’d saved these (blu-tack still in place!) in the bag with the egg decorations so we were able to re-use them as well.

It’s not easy to take a good photo of it with it being in front of the window but this gives the general idea!  You can just about make out the shapes of some of the flowers along the branches.

I don’t think there is any Christian significance about an Easter tree, but then there’s no Christian significance to a Christmas tree either and we all do it! My reasoning is that Easter, to Christians, is really more important than Christmas, so anything we can do to make more of a big deal of it is good!  It’s lovely to add decorations to mark the occasion and celebrate.

Finally, since my post yesterday I’m very pleased to say I have found my recipe for Mars Roulade! It’s now safely in my new file and, since it doesn’t seem to be available on the internet at all any more, I don’t think it’s treading on any toes to share it here!

3 Mars bars

3 tbsp hot water

5 eggs (separated)

6oz caster sugar

1/2 pint of double cream (whipped)

icing sugar for dredging

Grease and line a swiss roll tin – recipe says 15″x9″, mine is 11″x7″ but as I said yesterday, I’ve never had any problems using it.

Gently warm the Mars bars and water together until melted (or alternatively melt together gently in a microwave).  Whisk the egg yolks and sugar together until thick and pale (about 10 minutes) and then stir in the melted chocolate until evenly blended.

Whisk the egg whites until stiff and fold into the chocolate mixture.  Spoon into the prepared tin and bake in a preheated over at 180C/360F/G4 for about 25-30 minutes, or until firm (there’s a note on my recipe saying “needed extra 10-15 mins” so bear that in mind!).

Remove from the oven and cover with a sheet of greaseproof and a damp teatowel.  Leave until cold.

Turn out onto a sheet of icing-sugar dusted greaseproof.  Remove the lining paper and spread with whipped cream, or the vanilla cream I mentioned yesterday.  I like to add raspberries too – you have to be more generous with them than you think with them.  Roll carefully and sprinkle over more icing sugar and a few more raspberries.

I’m much more confident now about making it for the church supper on Thursday, as it’s always turned out ok in the past, but I’ll update on how it goes!

What do you think? Let me know!

