Northern Mummy

General thoughts and wittering about all sorts of things

Catch-up: part two

on April 17, 2011

So, with the reading side of things covered, I shall move on.

Cooking-wise I’ve tried a few new things lately: a really amazing lamb curry, a couple of new cakes including marshmallow cupcakes from the Hummingbird Bakery cookbook (the first book, I’m trying to resist buying Cake Days just yet as some would say I really have enough cake books!) which were truly delicious.  Today I’ve been having a go at a new recipe for chocolate roulade.  Years ago I discovered a recipe online for Mars Bar Roulade which was brilliant – it was easy to make, fitted into my swiss roll tin and worked well every time.  I used to fill it with vanilla cream (stir a couple of tsp of vanilla extract into double cream and beat till it peaks) and raspberries and took it to several parties to great acclaim.  But after a while I got bored and wanted to explore pastures new, so haven’t made it for a few years now.  Last weekend I was asked to contribute a dessert for our church’s Maundy Thursday supper and thought it was about time to resurrect (no Easter-themed pun intended) the chocolate and raspberry roulade but – tragedy! – my old, yellowed printout of the recipe was nowhere to be found!  I have done various Google searches but the original no longer seems to be available (and nor does any other version involving Mars Bars, which surprises me) and reluctantly I have sought out a new recipe.  Today’s version was my dry run but I was underwhelmed with the results – my oven was too fierce and the sponge came out scorched in places and when I filled it with the cream it didn’t roll up to my satisfaction.  You expect some cracking with a roulade – it’s not a swiss roll, whatever a lot of recipes try to claim – but mine ultimately became a triangle of cake filled with cream.  I don’t know if this is because of the slight overcooking, or because the cake hadn’t completely cooled  (I thought it had when I touched it and was in a hurry with several people clamouring for dessert, then realised when I began to roll that it was warm underneath) but it’s going to be difficult to rectify it reliably without another dry run, and it’s nice, but I don’t really want to eat that much of it in one week!  I miss my old recipe and I wish I could have it back.  It had 3 Mars Bars in it – please contact me if you have a similar one!

Still on a cooking theme but on a more positive note, I bought a recipe file with my Christmas money so if I can sort my internet discoveries into there, hopefully this sort of thing won’t happen again.

What do you think? Let me know!

