Northern Mummy

General thoughts and wittering about all sorts of things

Oat and raisin cookies

on August 20, 2010

It’s the summer holidays, which gives me more opportunities to do fun things with the children.  Sadly I am sometimes too worn out/lazy to take the opportunities but I do try (!), and today we baked cookies.

Last week I got the Hummingbird Bakery recipe book.  I’ve wanted it for about 6 months now, ever since someone recommended it to me as “one of those recipe books where everything always works”, but it was quite expensive (RRP £16.99) and as my husband said, it’s not as if I don’t have any baking recipe books!  Hurrah for The Book People, then, who had it available for £4.99!

I’ve made quite a lot of cupcakes and brownies recently for my Bible Study group and reading group, and I am supposed to be on a diet  so I thought I’d plump for the Oat and Raisin cookies as my first try (oats and dried fruit – healthy, yes?).  I’ve never made cookies before – I’ve tried shortbread biscuits once or twice but I have trouble with things that roll out getting very sticky, so I tend to stick to more cakey recipes.  For the cookie recipe, though, you just blob mixture onto the baking tray so I thought I’d give it a go.

It wasn’t easy for the girls to help – my electric scales failed just as we started (not the batteries as I replaced them but it didn’t help) so I had to convert all the weights into imperial so I could weigh them on the old fashioned scales.  That’s one drawback with the Hummingbird book: the weights are only listed in grammes.  The Bookworm was helpful in lining the baking trays (you need 4) with greaseproof paper while the Butterfly helped look out for the scales balancing (!) but I had to do most of the mixing while they just passed eggs, etc.  They helped to stir in the raisins at the end, and to put some blobs of mixture onto the trays, but the mixture is very stiff by then and it was hard for them to stir and scoop.  We also weren’t sure how rounded we needed to make the un-cooked cookies before baking and we did our best to round them off with a metal spoon but they were still quite spiky-looking.

We needn’t have worried, though – once they had baked they spread out to a much smoother, more rounded shape, and although some of them met at the edges they pulled apart again without spoiling when we took them out.  The baking time was a bit of an experiment – I can only get 2 trays in my oven at a time, though, so I had plenty of chance to try things out.  I usually set the oven to about 20 degrees C less than the recipe says, to allow for the fierceness of the fan, but in this case it turned out I didn’t need to as the second lot cooked more quickly once I’d turned up the heat.

The best thing about the cookies was that we were able to eat them only a few minutes after they came out of the oven and they were delicious.  The recipe made 20 and they’re quite large and filling, so although they won’t last for ever they should do us for a while!

What do you think? Let me know!

