Northern Mummy

General thoughts and wittering about all sorts of things

I write like James Joyce (apparently)

on August 6, 2010

I write like
James Joyce

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

According to the website “I Write Like”, I write like James Joyce.  That’s the proof above, copied from the site’s result page.  However, I could also post badges to confirm I write like Jane Austen, Mark Twain, H.P. Lovecraft, Stephen King, Douglas Adams, P.G. Wodehouse and Bram Stoker.  It would appear, then, that my writing style is very diverse, especially given that most of these results came from analysis of different chapters of the same story (a romantic piece of candyfloss I wrote – and still add to occasionally – purely for my own amusement) although a couple were from blogposts (the Bram Stoker one came from the soup recipe… anything to do with multiple references to garlic, I wonder?).

To be honest, I don’t have any conclusion to draw from this, except to wonder whether everyone experiences the same or if it goes to show that I’ve been right not to consider submitting my work for publication if it’s really quite so madly different in style – and given that the two most dramatic chapters, one featuring the heroine discovering her fiancé in bed with another woman and the other a heartbreaking misunderstanding followed by a car crash, are written in the style of Wodehouse (!) and Joyce respectively.  Is that a new way of saying “Don’t give up the day job”?

Now, I wonder what it will say when I analyse this post?

What do you think? Let me know!

