Northern Mummy

General thoughts and wittering about all sorts of things

A challenge

on May 21, 2010

I’m undertaking a Jane Austen reading challenge issued by a blogger called Haley.  It’s for 2010 so I’m starting a little bit late but I hope to be able to do it as I’ve already made some progress.

To take the challenge you sign up to one of 3 categories:  Newbie,  Lover and Fanatic and for each category you agree to read a certain number of Austen novels plus a selection of re-writes, prequels, sequels or spoofs.  Always one for a challenge, I have chosen the Fanatic category which requires me to read 6+ books by Jane Austen and 5+ non-Austen.

My plan is as follows:

Austen novels

  1. Lady Susan
  2. Sense and Sensibility
  3. Pride and Prejudice
  4. Northanger Abbey
  5. The Watsons
  6. Persuasion
  7. Emma
  8. Sanditon
  9. Mansfield Park

Rationale: Beginning to read in order of composition (rather than of publication).  After The Watsons I plan to read Persuasion as of the remaining novels it’s the one I read longest ago.  I can’t stand Mansfield Park – I try and read it every few years in the hope of learning to love it but so far I haven’t – I read it last year so am putting it last as if  I don’t have time to read them all, that’s the one that’s being missed out!  The last 3 on the list will be read if I have time – as I’m quite so late to the party and have other reading commitments (children’s book reviews and reading group obligations) I may well not!

Non-Austen

  1. Mr Darcy’s Diary by Amanda Grange
  2. Mr Knightley’s Diary by Amanda Grange
  3. Captain Wentworth’s Diary by Amanda Grange
  4. Prawn and Prejudice @ Salcombe by Belinda Roberts
  5. Being Elizabeth Bennet by Emma Campbell Webster*
  6. The League of Austen’s Extraordinary Gentlemen by Austenblog

Hopefully this will work out: the non-Austen has largely been covered already and I will record my thoughts in due course.

*  I believe this was published as Lost in Austen in America

What do you think? Let me know!

