Northern Mummy

General thoughts and wittering about all sorts of things

Currently reading: The Memory Garden

on May 3, 2010
I haven’t much to say about The Memory Garden as I haven’t got very far with it.  I started it whilst waiting for my latest reading group read (Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín – which I’m not going to blog about because I’ll be discussing it at my group meeting instead) to arrive from Amazon, but didn’t have time to get into it.  I read Hore’s first novel The Dream House a little while ago and enjoyed it very much, although its theme of marital breakdown isn’t one that appeals to me.  I much preferred the other plotline, surrounding the house and investigating the history of the lady who used to live there.  I love novels which tell a story through multiple time threads – Kate Morton, again, is another example of that kind of writing that I’ve read quite recently.  Anyway, The Memory Garden starts with a woman who’s recently come out of a relationship heading off to Cornwall to research an early-20th century school of painters for a book she’s writing.  Seems promising.  Plus there’s another storyline developing from 1912 (hurrah!) about a girl who goes to be a maid in the big house (in whose grounds is the cottage where the present-day character, Mel, is staying).
What do you think? Let me know!

